Shows & Events

  • Talk

    VII Interactive Book Club: “Lines and Lineage” on May 3rd, 2020 at 18:00 CET / 12:00 noon EDT / 9:00am PDT concluded

    I’ll be speaking about my latest book, Lines and Lineage, as part of the weekly VII Interactive Book Club. To access this free live event, you can visit the VII Facebook video stream page on May 3rd, 2020 at 18:00 CET / 12:00noon EDT or you can subscribe to the VII mailing list to receive an invitation to the Zoom call.

    The book takes aim at America’s collective amnesia of history. The work addresses the missing photographic record of the period when Mexico ruled what we now know as the American West. To visualize the people and places from the remarkable yet unseen Mexican era, I chose to photograph the region with glass plates and a 19th-century wooden camera. Portraits of direct descendants of early inhabitants of the West—mestizo, Afro-Latin, indigenous, Crypto-Jewish—are paired in diptychs with photographs of landscapes along the original border and architecture from the Mexican period. Lines and Lineage also includes historic maps and essays.

    This book lifts the pervasive fog of dominant Western mythology and makes us question the role that photographs—both present and missing—have played in shaping the identity of the West. Lines and Lineage was awarded France’s prestigious Roger Pic Prize and was selected as a finalist for the Leica Oskar Barnack Award. The work was profiled by The New York Times, in Photograph Magazine, and in HyperAllergic. It was published as a monograph by Radius Books in autumn 2019.

     

    Register for the Talk »

     

    More info.