Lines and Lineage wins France’s 2019 Roger Pic Award


My Lines and Lineage series of photos about the missing photographic history of the American West is the winner of France’s prestigious 2019 Roger Pic Award.

For the 27th edition of the award, there was a tie, and the jury selected two award winners. The other winner is Denis Dailleux for his series ln Ghana – We shall meet again.

This year, the members of of the jury were Jane Evelyn Atwood, Florence Drouhet, Fabienne Pavia, Thierry Ledoux, Gérard Uféras, Bénédicte Van der Maar and Guy Seligmann.

Lines and Lineage will be exhibited in Paris from May through October 2019 at two locations:

• Solo gallery exhibition from 16 May to 29 June, 2019
galerie baudoin lebon
8 rue Charles François-Dupuis
75003 Paris

• Award winners exhibition from 11 June to 25 October, 2019
Galerie de la Scam
5 avenue Vélasquez
75008 Paris


About the work

Lines and Lineage takes aim at America’s collective amnesia of history. The work addresses the missing photographic record of the period when Mexico ruled what we now know as the American West. To visualize the people and places from the remarkable yet unseen Mexican era, I chose to photograph the region with glass plates and a 19th-century wooden camera. Portraits of direct descendants of early inhabitants of the West—mestizo, Afro-Latin, indigenous, Crypto-Jewish—are paired with photographs of landscapes inside the original border and architecture from the Mexican period. Lines and Lineage lifts the pervasive fog of dominant Western mythology and makes us question the role that photographs—both present and missing—have played in shaping the identity of the West.


About the award

Each year, la Société civile des auteurs multimédia (La SCAM), awards a photographic portfolio documenting reality and questioning our humanity with singularity. The award is in memory of Roger Pic, a French photographer, director and defender of copyright. Previous winners include Jane Evelyn Atwood (1996), Guy Tillim (2002), Philip Blenkinsop (2004), Martin Kollar (2005), Bruno Fert (2013) and Laura El-Tantawy (2018).

Download the press release about the award.